Distinguished Service to British Sociology Award

About the Award

This prestigious award is judged on service to British sociology and awarded to the outstanding individual who has contributed most to the discipline by leading an extraordinary life as a sociologist.

The award is open to all BSA members and the winner will be presented with the award by the BSA President at the Annual Conference in April.

Call for Nominations

We are now inviting nominations for the Distinguished Service to British Sociology Award 2017.

If you wish to nominate someone for this award, please send a completed nomination form to Margaret Luke.

Please note that anyone you wish to nominate must be a fully-paid up member of the BSA.

The deadline for nominations is Friday, 9 December 2016.

2016 Winner: Professor David Morgan

David Morgan photo.This year's BSA Distinguished Service Award was given to Professor David Morgan, of the University of Manchester.

The award is given to an outstanding individual who has contributed most to the discipline by leading an extraordinary life as a sociologist.

The award was made at the BSA's annual conference in Aston by Professor Lynn Jamieson, the BSA's President.

She said that Professor Morgan was "the theorist of families and relationships in the UK and has been for many decades.

"He has not only been in the forefront of writing about families and relationships, but has developed other strands of work including studies of masculinity and autobiography.

"It's the way he ties together personal life and social theory that is such an important contribution." His work was responsible for "rescuing the family from the theoretical backwater that it was inhabiting."

Professor Jamieson said that Professor Morgan, a former President of the BSA, had made "decades of contributions" to the association. "He is generous to a fault and always has been...this award is incredibly deserved."

Professor Morgan thanked the BSA, which had "from the earliest times in my career" given him social support, inspiration and collegiality.

"The BSA, particularly its study groups, plays an immense function in bringing people into contact with each other and encouraging and supporting people in social inquiry."

He also thanked Ronnie Frankenberg, who died recently, a colleague who had been "a source of support and encouragement" and who had "inspired by his understanding of sociology – that it was both playful and serious, often at the same time, something that I've tried to follow."

The Morgan Centre for Research into Everyday Lives at the University of Manchester is named after Professor Morgan.

Past Winners

  • 2015 - Professor John Eldridge
  • 2014 - Professor John Scott
  • 2013 - Sara Delamont
  • 2012 Inaugural Award - Professor Jennifer Platt